Release Date November 1996
 Artist Various
 Record Label Island / Polygram Records
 Singles With U2 None
 Promotional Releases None
Larry Mullen performs on drums, and Adam Clayton provides bass with Mike Mills and Michael Stipe of R.E.M. on this performance of "One".
 TRACKLISTING (Click for Lyrics)
  • One (Live, January 1993) - Automatic Baby (4:27)
  • Feelin' Alright - Paul Weller (4:02)
  • Huckleberry Grove - Ocean Colour Scene (3:00)
  • Still Life - Alisha's Attic (3:50)
  • Punk Boy - Ash (2:07)
  • Ski Jump Nose (Cliff Nourell Mix) - Mansun (3:44)
  • Lazy (Original Demo) - Suede (3:12)
  • Whiskey in the Jar - Pulp (4:48)
  • Better Man - Cast (3:02)
  • Ocean Drive (VH1 Acoustic Mix) - Lighthouse Family (3:23)
  • Can't Smile Without You - Menswear (3:59)
  • Back Street Luv - Salad (3:30)
  • Wichita Lineman - These Animal Men (4:25)
  • Dance of the Bad Angel (Archive Mix) - Booth and the Bad Angel (5:04)
  • Chaos - Tricky (2:52)
  • Possibly Maybe (LFO Lucy Mix) - Bjork (3:02)
  • Looking For (Biff Mix) - East 17 (4:01)
  • Your Song - Boyzone (3:54)
One (Live): Words by Bono. Music by U2. Published by Polygram International Publishing. Recorded at MTVs 1992 Inaugural Ball. Michael Stipe: Vocals.  Mike Mills: Vocals, guitar. Adam Clayton: Bass. Larry Mullen: Drums.
In 1993, members of REM had plans to perform at MTV's Inaugeral Ball for President Bill Clinton (note this release labels it as 1992).  Only part of REM was available for the performance and upon learning Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen were available, they were approached to play, and a decision was made to perform U2's "One".  The collaboration has graced several hard to find compilations over the years.  The compilation, Amazing Grace was probably the easiest of these to find. The collaborative group took the name "Automatic Baby" taking a portion of the name from each of the individual band's last releases, Automatic for the People, and Achtung Baby.

This compilation was put together for Childline which is an organization in the UK who helps youngsters at risk.

  • The Automatic Baby track has been released on the following compilations: Amazing Grace, 99XII Live, Just Passin' Thru, and Childline.
  • Bono has unofficially been credited with influencing or co-writing the REM track "Walk Unafraid" from the Up album.
  • Michael Stipe participated in the What's Goin' On? single which Bono organized and participates in.
 5" CD:
 UK Pressing, 5530302
Label: Island / Polygram Records
UPC: 7 31455 30302 5
Package: Regular Jewel Case
Catalog Information:
UK, Island Music / Polygram, 5530302
Track Listing:
As listed above.
Further Information:
Other Images:
. .
Site © 1995-2004 U2 Wanderer. All rights reserved. All images are copyright their respective designers. This website is an informational resource for private use only and is not affiliated with U2, their management company, their record label or any related bodies.  The information presented within these pages is based upon information provided by other fans, and U2 Wanderer takes no responsibility for any problems resulting from use of the material presented within.