Release Date September 23, 1997
 Artist Various
 Record Label Island Records
 Singles With U2 None
 Promotional Releases None
Larry Mullen performs on drums, and Adam Clayton provides bass with Mike Mills and Michael Stipe of R.E.M. on this performance of "One".
 TRACKLISTING (Click for Lyrics)
  • Amazing Grace - Ani DiFranco (7:08)
  • The White Spirit - Uman (5:26)
  • Set Adrift on Memory Bliss - PM Dawn (4:10)
  • Calling all Angels (Live) - Jane Siberry (5:44)
  • Unfinished Story - Djamel Ben Yelles (3:58)
  • Dreaming my Dreams (Live) - The Cranberries (3:41)
  • Redemption Song - Bob Marley (3:45)
  • One (Live, January 1993) - Automatic Baby (4:21)
  • Summertime - Angelique Kidjo (3:36)
  • I Will Never Be the Same (Live) - Melissa Etheridge (4:09)
  • Rain - Wally Badarou (3:01)
  • Amazing Grace - Daniel Lanois featuring Aaron Neville (3:48)
One (Live): Words by Bono. Music by U2. Published by Polygram International Publishing. Recorded at MTVs 1992 Inaugural Ball. Michael Stipe: Vocals.  Mike Mills: Vocals, guitar. Adam Clayton: Bass. Larry Mullen: Drums.
In 1993, members of REM had plans to perform at MTV's Inaugeral Ball for President Bill Clinton (note this release labels it as 1992).  Only part of REM was available for the performance and upon learning Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen were available, they were approached to play, and a decision was made to perform U2's "One".  The collaboration has graced several hard to find compilations over the years.  The compilation, Amazing Grace was probably the easiest of these to find. The collaborative group took the name "Automatic Baby" taking a portion of the name from each of the individual band's last releases, Automatic for the People, and Achtung Baby.

All proceeds from the Amazing Grace compilation went to Bone Marrow Cancer Research.

  • The Automatic Baby track has been released on the following compilations: Amazing Grace, 99XII Live, Just Passin' Thru, and Childline.
  • Bono has unofficially been credited with influencing or co-writing the REM track "Walk Unafraid" from the Up album.
  • Michael Stipe participated in the What's Goin' On? single which Bono organized and participates in.
 5" CD:
 USA Pressing, 314-524 395-2
Label: Island Records
UPC: 7 314-524 395-2 9
Package: Digipack
Matrix: 314 524 395-2 01%
Catalog Information:
USA, Island, 314-524 395-2
Track Listing:
As listed above.
Further Information:
Other Images:
. .
Site © 1995-2004 U2 Wanderer. All rights reserved. All images are copyright their respective designers. This website is an informational resource for private use only and is not affiliated with U2, their management company, their record label or any related bodies.  The information presented within these pages is based upon information provided by other fans, and U2 Wanderer takes no responsibility for any problems resulting from use of the material presented within.