Commercial Release November 23, 2004
 Artist U2
 Download Service Apple iTunes
 TRACKLISTING (Click for Lyrics)
  • Levitate (5:09)
  • Love You Like Mad (4:17)
  • Smile (3:17)
  • Flower Child (4:54)
  • Beautiful Ghost / Introduction to Songs of Experience (3:52)
  • Jesus Christ (3:12)
  • Xanax and Wine (4:39)
  • All Because of You (Alternate Version) (3:35)
  • Native Son (3:08)
  • Yahweh (Alternate Version) (4:31)
  • Sometimes You Can't Make it on Your Own (Alternate Version) (5:30)
  • Numb (Radio Edit) (3:57)
  • Bass Trap (Edit) (3:33)
  • Night and Day (Twilight Remix) (5:20)
  • Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix Edit) (5:50)
  • Salome (Zooromancer Remix Edit) (5:51)
  • Christmas (Baby Please Come Home) (2:19)
  • Stateless (4:05)
No traditional liner notes included in with this set released with The Complete U2: Digital Box Set.
In 2004 Apple's iTunes store released a "Digital Box Set" of U2 Recordings entitled The Complete U2.  The set was made available only through the iTunes music store for download.  Included within the set were several rare recordings grouped as albums.  These "Digital Albums" were accompanied by new artwork designed by Four5One, the creative design firm which has done most of U2's albums throughout the years.  These cover images were released in an accompanying "PDF" file along with information about the full set of songs in the "Digital Box Set".  It is not known at this time if Apple plans on releasing these "Digital Albums" separate from the box set - at this time they are only available when one purchases The Complete U2.  The tracks could be downloaded in Apple's AAC format for compressed music.

The Unreleased & Rare album features several tracks that have never appeared on any other commercial U2 release.  From the All That You Can't Leave Behind recording sessions we get the tracks "Levitate", "Flower Child" and "Love You Like Mad".  From the How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb sessions we get the tracks "Smile", "Xanax and Wine", "Native Son" and alternate versions of "All Because of You", "Yahweh" and "Sometimes You Can't Make it On Your Own".  From The Joshua Tree sessions we get the track "Beautiful Ghost / Introduction to Songs of Experience".  The other songs appearing in this set have appeared on other recordings, and can be found in our By Songs section.

Several of these songs would eventually become other songs on releases.  "Xanax and Wine" became "Fast Cars", and "Native Son" became "Vertigo" upon further work.  Other songs have recognizable parts as well.  The song "Beautiful Ghost" is an early instrumental track from 1987 which Bono reads William Blake's "Introduction to Songs of Experience" over top of.

Service: Apple iTunes Music Store
UPC: None
Package: Digital Picture Sleeve
Format: Apple AAC Format (.m4p)
Catalog Information:
Not applicable for this digital release.
Track Listing:
As listed above.
Further Information:
Originally released initially as a portion of the "digital box set", The Complete U2.
Other Images:
The above image is the only image accompanying this digital album
. Live from Boston 1981 (2004)
Site © 1995-2004 U2 Wanderer. All rights reserved. All images are copyright their respective designers. This website is an informational resource for private use only and is not affiliated with U2, their management company, their record label or any related bodies.  The information presented within these pages is based upon information provided by other fans, and U2 Wanderer takes no responsibility for any problems resulting from use of the material presented within.