Release Date April 3, 2004
 Artist Various
 Record Label Warner Records
 Singles With U2 None
 Promotional Releases Available
Bono and the Edge perform "American Prayer" with David Stewart and Beyonce
 TRACKLISTING (Click for Lyrics)
  • Crazy in Love (46664 Version) - Beyonce (6:19)
  • Speech - Bob Geldof (4:22)
  • Redemption Song - Bob Geldof (3:38)
  • Say it's Not True - Queen, David A. Stewart (3:22)
  • Starry Eyed Suprise - Paul Oakenfold, Shifty Shellshock, TC (5:05)
  • Ready Steady Go - Paul Oakenfold, Shifty Shellshock, TC, Amampondo Drummers (4:59)
  • Baayo - Baaba Maal (4:42)
  • Njilou - Baaba Maal (4:28)
  • Africa Dream Again - Youssou N'Dour (6:35)
  • Wild World - Yusuf Islam, Peter Gabriel (5:27)
  • In Your Eyes - Angelique Kidjo, Youssou N'Dour, Peter Gabriel (11:13)
  • Biko - Peter Gabriel (9:25)
  • American Prayer - Beyonce, Bono, the Edge, David A. Stewart (4:20)
American Prayer: Written by Hewson and Stewart.  Performed by Bono, the Edge, Beyonce and David A Stewart.
In late 2002 Bono worked with Joe Strummer of the Clash and David A. Stewart on a song titled after Nelson Mandela's Prision Number '46664'.  This song was to be used to bring attention to the devestation that AIDS and HIV was creating in Africa.  Joe Strummer, however, passed away before the completion of the song and it was left up to Bono and David Stewart to finish the song.

Originally planned for early 2003, a concert was planned in South Africa to launch the 46664 campaign.  The concert was pushed back and rescheduled for November 29th, 2003 to coincide with World AIDS day.  The concert was streamed live on the internet, and was later televised around the world.

The track featured on this album featuring U2 is a song called "American Prayer" which Bono and David Stewart wrote and Bono often performed in 2002 on his "Heart of America" tour when he was bringing information on the AIDS crisis to middle America.  He is joined in performing this song by Beyonce, David Stewart and the Edge.

The entire concert was released on CD, spread over three discs.  These discs were sold separately to hopefully bring in buyers who would only be interested in one disc and wouldn't pay for a three disc set.  Contributions by Bono and the Edge are spread out over all three released discs.  The other two discs capturing this live event are Part II: Long Road to Freedom and Part III: Amandla.  There was also a 2 disc DVD released of the entire concert.

  • There are two other parts to this CD which are sold separately.  These are Part II: Long Road to Freedom and Part III: Amandla
  • Bono and the Edge have worked with David A Stewart on the soundtrack for Cookie's Fortune.
  • David A Stewart's multimedia web project "Sly-Fy" featured clips of Bono and the Edge, but there was no inclusion of these U2 clips on the accompanying recording.
  • David A Stewart is thanked for early inspiration on the song "Walk On" on the All That You Can't Leave Behind album.
  • David A Stewart performed "Walk On" with U2 for the September 11 tribute, which was released as the album America: A Tribute to Heroes.
  • David A Stewart also recorded "46664" in studio with Bono.  This song to date has only been released on the internet and by phone.  There has not been a commercial release.
 5" CD:
 USA Pressing, R2-78922
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0 8122-78922-2 7
Package: Regular Jewel
Matrix: 3 R278922-2 01
 Europe Pressing, 5050467-2109-2-9
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 5 050467 210929
Package: Regular Jewel
Catalog Information:
Europe, Warner, 5050467-2109-2-9 USA, Warner, R2-78922
Japan, Warner, WPCR11845
Track Listing:
As listed above.
Further Information:
In Australia an import of the European release was sold.  In Canada an import of the USA release was sold.  In the USA the inserts were printed on a shiny paper stock, in Europe the inserts were printed on a matte paper stock.  The UK releases also featured a sticker on the front of the jewel case.
Other Images:
Front Cover of US release including sticker
. .