Release Date November 4, 2002
 Artist Various
 Record Label Universal Records
 Singles With U2 None
 Promotional Releases None
U2 contributes "New Year's Day (Studio 4:17)" to this release as well as a live video of their performance of "New Year's Day" on the television show.
 TRACKLISTING (Click for Lyrics)
Disc One:
  • New Year's Day (Studio) - U2 (4:17)
  • The Jam - The Jam (3:22)
  • Need You Tonight - INXS (3:02)
  • Love Cats - The Cure (3:39)
  • Passenger - Siouxsie and the Banshees (4:07)
  • Wasteland - The Mission (3:56)
  • Real Wild Child - Iggy Pop (3:35)
  • The Cutter - Echo and the Bunnymen (3:54)
  • Big Area - Then Jericho (4:46)
  • No Mercy - The Stranglers (3:31)
  • Rat Trap - Boomtown Rats (5:08)
  • Fields of Fire - Big Country (3:28)
  • Shout to the Top - Style Council (3:23)
  • Everyday I Write the Book - Elvis Costello (3:52)
  • Pulling Mussels - Squeeze (3:58)
  • Love is a Wonderful Colour - Icicle Works (4:10)
  • Rattlesnakes - Lloyd Cole & Commotions (3:25)
  • Let My People Go - Rainmakers (3:35)
  • Never Never - Assembly (3:42)
  • Holding Back the Years - Simply Red (4:31)
Disc Two:
  • Relax - Frankie Goes to Hollywood (3:55)
  • Hungry Like the Wolf - Duran Duran (3:23)
  • Time - Culture Club (3:42)
  • The Lebanon - Human League (3:42)
  • Oblivious - Aztec Camera (3:09)
  • Situation - Yazoo (2:23)
  • Love Machine - Wham (3:22)
  • Dancing With Tears in My Eyes - Ultravox (4:04)
  • Change - Tears for Fears (4:17)
  • Playhouse - Paul Young (4:46)
  • Pretty in Pink - Psychedelic Furs (3:57)
  • Modern Girl - Meatloaf (4:24)
  • Some Guys Have all the Luck - Robert Palmer (3:07)
  • If You Let Me Stay - Terrance Trent D'Arby (3:14)
  • Politics of Dancing - Re-Flex (3:45)
  • Middle of the Road - The Pretenders (4:13)
  • Boys are Back in Town - Thin Lizzy (4:28)
  • CDRom Section which includes footage of U2 performing on The Tube (4:44)
New Year's Day: Written by Adam Clayton, Bono, Larry Mullen, The Edge.
New Year's Day Video: Written by Adam Clayton, Bono, Larry Mullen, The Edge.  Video footage courtesy of Granada Visual.  1982 Tyne Tees Television.
I can hear some ask why is this included under "Other U2" when other compilations are relegated to the Various Artists Compilations section?  It's because of the added video component which is a performance which hasn't been released commercially in the past.

The Tube was a British TV show on Channel 4 which started in 1982.  This compilation was put together to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the show, even though the show had been discontinued after 5 years on the air.  The Tube was a live music show, with acts performing each week, as well as showing videos.

U2's performance was taped live on March 16, 1983 in the Tyne Tees TV Studio in Newcastle, England.  The full set performed was Gloria, New Year's Day, Sunday Bloody Sunday, "40" and I Will Follow.  Only the performance of New Year's Day is included on this disc, and it is in pretty low quality Quicktime format.

The audio version of New Year's Day included on this release is the same as the one released on the Best of 1980 - 1990 album.

  • New Year's Day was released in various forms and on various releases.  See the list under By Songs (N).
 2 x 5" CD:
 UK Pressing, 069 814-2
Label: Universal Records
UPC: 0 44006 98142 0
Package: Slim Double Jewel
Matix A: 0698152 03 5
Matrix B: 0698162 02 5
Catalog Information:
UK, Universal, 069 814-2
Track Listing:
As listed above.
Further Information:
Although the overall compilation has a catalog number of 069 814-2, the two CDs included within are labelled individually with their own catalog numbers.  CD1 is labelled as 069 815-2 and CD2 is labelled as 069 816-2.
Other Images:
CD2 of UK Release / Case of UK Release with Sticker
. .
Site © 1995-2004 U2 Wanderer. All rights reserved. All images are copyright their respective designers. This website is an informational resource for private use only and is not affiliated with U2, their management company, their record label or any related bodies.  The information presented within these pages is based upon information provided by other fans, and U2 Wanderer takes no responsibility for any problems resulting from use of the material presented within.